2017 Nomination Application




Loretta Swit, Betty White, Ed Asner and Bob Barker Receive The GES Africa Conservation Fund’s 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award for Animal Conservation.

METROPOLITAN FASHION AWARDS honoring outstanding achievements in fashion and costume design in motion pictures, television, and live performance during the 4th Annual Metropolitan Fashion Week’s Closing Gala & Fashion Awards at Warner Bros. Studios. The event, hosted by Metropolitan Fashion Week producer Eduardo Khawam, was attended by over 600 industry VIP’s, celebrities, costume and fashion designers. Award presenters included actress, singer and former Miss Universe Alicia Machadoactor Antonio Jaramillo (Shades of Blue) and reporter-producer Nitzia Chama (Univision’s Despierata America).

In a special presentation, Cirque du Soleil Las Vegas received the 2016 Metropolitan Fashion Excellence Award for their outstanding work in costume design, presented by MFW founder Eduardo Khawam. For the first time, Cirque du Soleil debuted costumes from all six of its Las Vegas shows on one runway. Performers from The Beatles LOVE, KÀ, Michael Jackson ONE, Mystère, O by Cirque du Soleil and Zumanity strutted the runway in costumes from their respective shows.

Hollywood legends Betty White, Ed Asner, Loretta Swit and Bob Barker were also honored with the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award for Animal Conservation, presented by MFW sponsor The GES Africa Conservation Fund, for their passion and commitment to animals and endangered species. Loretta Swit accepted the award in person on behalf of her fellow nominees. Ed Asner’s award was accepted by his son Matt Asner. The GES Group operates the leading Wildlife Management operation in South Africa and protects the largest private Rhino population in the world with over 1,500 Rhinos under direct protection.

Eduardo Khawam Presents Cirque du Soleil Las Vegas with The 2016 Metropolitan Fashion Excellence Award. Thierry Mugler (Zumanity)– WINS in the category of Costume Designer of the year, Live Performance.

Jeannie Mai & Jomari Goyso

Fashion Commentators of the Year.

Captiain America: Civil War

Judianna Makovsky, Costume Designer of the Year – Motion Picture.

The People v O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story

Outstanding Ensemble for Make-up and Hair Stylist.

American Horror Story: Hotel

Lou Eyrich, Costume Designer of the Year – Television.

2016 Mtropolitan Fashion Excellence Awards

Cirque Du Soleil, Las Vegas


Fashion Commentator of the Year

  • Jomari Goyso – WINNER
  • Jeannie Mai – WINNER
  • Joe Zee
  • Giuliana Rancic
  • Melissa Rivers

Fashion Program of the Year

  • Project Runway
  • RuPauls Drag Race – WINNER
  • Miss Universe
  • Fashion Police
  • Entertainment Tonight
  • Nuestra Belleza Latina
  • E! Live from the Red Carpet

Costume Designer of the Year – Live Perfomance

  • Zumanity: Thierry Mugler– WINNER
  • Victoria’s Secret: VS
  • Macbeth: Suttirat Anne Larlarb
  • Grease Live: William Ivey Long
  • The Wiz Live: Brandon Michael Currie

Costume Designer of the Year – Motion Picture

  • Caption America Civil War: Judianna Makovsky – WINNER
  • Deadpool: Angus Strathie
  • Florence Foster Jenkins: Consolata Boyle
  • Star Trek Beyond: Sanja Hays
  • The Legend of Tarzan: Ruth Myers

Outstanding Ensemble for Make-up and Hair Stylist

  • American Horror Story: Hotel
  • Captain America Civil War
  • Grease Live
  • The People v O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story
  • Star Trek Beyond
  • Dancing with the Stars

Costume Designer of the Year – Television

  • American Horror Story Hotel: Lou Eyrich – WINNER
  • Empire: Paolo Nieddu
  • 11 22 63: Roland Sanchez
  • Transparent: Marie Schley
  • Doctor Thorne: Collen Kelsall
  • El Senor de los Cielos: Alejando Gastelum

Fashion Blogger of the Year

  • Blake Scott
  • Dulce Candy- WINNER
  • Olivia Culpo
  • Shea Marie
  • Tommy Lei

Fashion Stylist of the Year

  • Leslie Fremar
  • Micaela Erlanger – WINNER
  • Rob Zangardi & Rariel Haenn
  • Samantha McMillen
  • Tara Swennen

Metropolitan Fashion Award

Designed by Paul Jaramillo, Sculpted by Inoe Vargas


click to watch

Stages of creation of beautiful Metropolitan Fashion Award.

Pin It on Pinterest